Masters of Melody | Barber Violin Concerto

Altria Masterworks Series


Conductor: Steven Smith

Guest Artists: Sheryl Staples, Violin
Date/Time   Location
Saturday  Mar. 16   8:00 PM     Carpenter Theatre
Get tickets HERE

Program Repertoire


         The Hebrides Overture, "Fingal's Cave", Opus 26



Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, Opus 14

I. Allegro

II. Andante

III. Presto in moto perpetuo

Sheryl Staples



Symphony No. 41 in C Major,  "Jupiter", K. 551

I. Allegro vivace

II. Andante cantabile

           III. Allegretto

           IV. Molto allegro

Violinist Sheryl Staples joined the New York Philharmonic as Principal Associate Concertmaster (The Elizabeth G. Beinecke Chair) in 1998, and made her solo debut with the Orchestra in 1999.  read more...

"The violin concerto (1939) is a transitional work: the first two movements sing sweetly and intently; the last movement burns the barn down with complex meters and new dissonances."  Read more on Samuel Barber...


Concert Sponsors


« Back to Performances